HISTORY OF HAWLEY
The Borough of Hawley was formed in 1884, but it’s history dates back to the 1790s when early pioneers discovered the mighty Paupack Falls and the ability to harness its power for manufacturing. It was named for Irad Hawley, the first president of PA Coal Co.
Thanks to the arrival of the D&H Canal in the 1820s and the Pennsylvania Coal Company (PCC) gravity railroad led to a population boom and the rapid development of the town. It wasn’t until 1951 that Hawley adopted its current name and, as they say, the rest is history.
The success of the railroad opened the door for shops, eateries, stores, and lodging facilities. Hawley even had a boardwalk, where locals and visitors could walk along the water and watch boats as they tied up to the docks.
A raging fire in 1864 burned out of control and took out many of the merchants, the first major disaster of several the town would experience.
For more information on this history of Hawley, go to Tri-County Independent.